It is currently 23rd March, 2017, 4:18 am

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 
Unread postPosted: 13th March, 2017, 11:39 pm 
Saint Drogo's mistress.

First name: Da'Neil Boxley
Likes received: 138

Team: Coruscant
/θrɛd.ʌv.lɪŋ'gwɪ.stɪk.'wæŋ.kəri/

Hi there! As many of you know, I studied linguistics in college. I know some of y'all might also be interested. But first, I wanna establish one very common misconception. And that's not what linguistics is, but rather, what it isn't.
Linguistics is not a study of foreign languages.
But rather, it's "the scientific study of language and its structure, including the study of morphology, syntax, phonetics, and semantics."

But enough of that boring crap. Let's talk about some of its cooler applications!
For example, two of my professors recently worked on a video game:

How fucking rad is that?

But that's not the only cool linguist there is. Lemme introduce you motherfuckers to THIS GUY.
JRR Motherfucking Tolkien. He did a lot of really awesome linguistics stuff, but by far my favorite is Tengwar, or the Elvish writing system.
At first glance, these seem like arbitrary symbols, but the trained eye, they are not! They're designed to mimic the actual place of articulation. And they come in voiced and voiceless pairs! Let's use [f] and [v] as an example. These consonants are a pair, differing only in terms of being voiced(v) and voiceless(f). Notice that for [f], the symbol actually looks like where your lip touches your teeth! And for v, as with most voiced/voiceless pairs, the bump is just reiterated to indicate voice. We also see this with [p] and [b].

What are YOUR favorite aspects of linguistics? Who are your favorite linguists? Discuss!

1 from Russell

Unread postPosted: 14th March, 2017, 8:20 am 
hotty

First name: Danny
Likes received: 163

Team: Middle Earth
"Buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo" is a grammatically correct sentence.

2 from Patrixen and muddylegs

Unread postPosted: 14th March, 2017, 1:16 pm